IMPEL’s members consist of 55 environmental authorities in 36 countries: the 27 EU member states, North Macedonia, Serbia, Turkey, Iceland, Kosovo*, Albania, Switzerland, Norway and the United Kingdom. Within the IMPEL Association they are referred to as IMPEL member countries.
The IMPEL General Assembly can admit Observers to the Association which then can participate in the meetings of the General Assembly with a consultative voice. An Observer can be an international organisation or network which has a close link to IMPEL’s activities. Experts, nominated by the representative of an Observer can also attend IMPEL projects and activities.

(*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.)

Subscribe to our newsletter